Bathurst, Eastern Cape

View photos of this town

Click for larger map
Click on map for larger image

The town was founded in 1820 and named after Lord Bathurst, Secretary of State for the Colonies, by the Governor of the Cape, Sir Rufane Donkin.

List of buildings:

Bailey's Beacon and 1820 Toposcope: 1859.
Barrow Cottage: 1837.
Barville Park: c1835. district
Bleak House: c1820.
Bradshaw's Mill: 1821.
Clumber Methodist Church: 1867. district
Clumber Methodist Church School: 1837. district
Cuylerville Church: 1825 : 1831 : 1939. district
Drostdy: 1820.
Fossil Exposure: n.d..
Fraser's Camp Signal Tower: 1835. district
Lombard's Post: 1812. district
Methodist Church, cemetery and ringwall: 1832.
Morley House: 1828.
Old Powder Magazine (Star Fort complex): 1821.
Pig and Whistle Hotel: 1821.
Railway Institute Building: 1903.
Rokeby Park Methodist Church: 1884. district
St John's Anglican Church: 1832.