This is the two room house in which Carl August PACALT, founder of the mission station, lived between 1813 and 1818.
The simple building is a rare survivor from this period. It is a charming, well-proportioned Georgian building. It later became known as "Die Patat Huisie" as it was used as a sweet potatoes store by the Rev John Brown Anderson in the early half of the twentieth century. (Gerald Humphrey 2016)
Writings about this entry