Alpha Club


A proposed society of twelve of then students of Architecture at the University of Witwatersrand, constituted for the discussion, creation and publication of original works in aesthetics, technics, architecture, painting, sculpture, industrial art apropos the then (1932) 'contemporary spirit'. It was mooted by Rex MARTIENSSEN and besides himself, others he proposed as members of the Alpha Club were, David HADDON, Norman HANSON, James WILSON, Monte BRYER, David CLARK, Gordon McINTOSH, Rex MARTIENSSEN, W HOWIE, Angus STEWART, John FASSLER, Eric LUCKE.

It was not realised but from this was founded the ZEROHOUR GROUP.

Herbert, 1975: 94-5

Buildings on this website in Alpha Club style